While Naperville, Woodridge and the surrounding areas recover from the tornado and high wind damage,…
As we enter into 2016, a number of new driving laws will take effect.
Speeding Regulations (HB1453)
An individual driving in a construction zone, school zone or urban area going 26 miles per hour over the posted speed limit may be charged with the offense of aggravated speeding (Class B misdemeanor). If going over 35 miles per hour or more over the posted speed limit it is a Class A misdemeanor.
Prohibiting Vehicles on Highways (SB 1704)
Local authorities now have the power to prohibit the operation of vehicles or impose weight restrictions to be operated on highways for a maximum 90 day period within one calendar year. This law is enacted to prevent damage to highways during inclement weather conditions.
Duplicate Identification (SB1898)
The Secretary of State can only issue three duplicate identification cards or driver licenses per person, per year. In an individual’s lifetime, only ten can be issued.
Underage Consumption (HB 1336)
A person under the age of 21 may not be charged or may not be taken into custody for underage consumption if there was a request made for medical assistance due to the alcohol consumption. In the case of a car accident, if the underage individual remains at the scene of the accident and cooperates with law enforcement, he or she may also not be charged with underage consumption.
Revoked Driver’s License in Another State (HB 4074)
A nonresident whose license was revoked in another State and thereafter became a resident of Illinois for 10 or more consecutive years is able to be issued an Illinois driver’s license with the completion of all requirements for reinstatement, including an administrative hearing.
Warning to Motorist (SB0627)
When a motorist is required to be tested for alcohol consumption level, the motorist must sign in a form indicating receipt of the issued warning. A law enforcement officer must indicate if the motorist refused to sign the document, noting that refusal to sign does not mean a warning was not issued.
Two or More DUIs (HB3533)
If a person is convicted of a second or subsequent DUI, he or she must obtain a Restricted Driving Permit and equip his or her vehicle with an ignition interlock device (BAIID) for five years before submitting an application for reinstatement of their driver’s license.
Four or More DUIs (HB 1446)
If a person’s driver’s license has been revoked due to four or more DUIs and is ineligible for restoration of the license, he or she may apply for a Restricted Driving Permit to operate a vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device (BAIID) to analyze breath alcohol if it has been 5 years from revocation or release from imprisonment, whichever is later. Additionally, evidence must be provided that he or she has abstained from alcohol and illegal drugs for at least three years and rehabilitative treatment has been successfully completed. Makes it a Class 4 felony for individuals with a restricted driving permit to not obtain an ignition interlock device for their vehicle.
Seniors/Disabled Persons License Plates (HB2811)
Beginning with the 2017 registration year, any senior citizen, disabled person or spouse who owns a vehicle is eligible for the Department of Aging’s Benefit Access Program will receive a reduced registration fee of $24 for specialty license plates.
Specialty License Plates (HB1081)
Any specialty license plates, with the exclusion of military license plates, will have a universal special license plate design. Further, it requires motorists guilty of two DUIs to install breathalyzers on work and personal vehicles.